Lowndes County Historical Society

The Valodsta / Lowndes County Museum was founded in 1967 as a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting the preserving the rich history of Valdosta and Lowndes County. Located in the old Carnegie Library, we host almost 10,000 sq ft of historic displays and research material.

With meeting and guest speaker facilities on site, we host a wide array of meetings and activities ranging from the Daughters of the American Revolution to book signings by current authors.

Brooks County

Founded on December 11, 1858, Brooks County was created from portions of Lowndes and Thomas counties. The 494-square-mile county was named for Preston S. Brooks of South Carolina, an extremely popular young legislator known for his intensely southern sentiments and his zealous defense of southern rights. In 1853 Brooks was elected to Congress as a States' Rights Democrat and served until his death four years later, at the age of thirty-eight. A year later the Georgia legislature showed their appreciation of him by naming a county for him

Cook County

Cook County, forty miles north of the Florida border in south central Georgia, is the state's 155th county. The 229-square-mile county was created from Berrien County in 1918. One of only twenty-five Georgia counties that still have their original boundaries, it was named for Philip Cook, a general in the Seminole Wars and the Civil War (1861-65), a U.S. congressman from 1873 to 1882, and Georgia's secretary of state from 1890 through 1894.

Adel, the county seat, was incorporated in 1889, and the county courthouse was built there in 1939. Located at a railroad junction, Adel was first called "Puddleville" for the effect rain had on its then-unpaved streets.

The name was changed in 1873. According to one story, local residents saw the name "Philadelphia" either in a gazetteer or on a crocus sack, and needing a unique name for their town, they chose the central portion of the word.

Echols County

Echols County, on Georgia's border with Florida, was carved from Clinch and Lowndes counties in 1858 and named in honor of Robert M. Echols, who commanded troops in the Mexican War (1846-48) after serving a total of twenty years in the state legislature. Before white settlers arrived, the inhabitants of the area were Seminole Indians. Sparsely populated, Echols County contains no incorporated towns.

The county seat, Statenville, was first called "Troublesome" after nearby Troublesome Creek. The name was changed when the town was chartered in 1859. There are some stories that its new name was a misreading of "Statesville," which was subsequently used on some maps, but locals believe that the intent was to name it for James W. Staten, a local farmer and store owner.

Lanier County

Lanier County, in southern Georgia, is the state's 157th county. Named for the Georgia poet Sidney Lanier, the county was created in 1920 with land taken from Berrien, Clinch, and Lowndes counties. Its 187 square miles were formerly held by Creek Indians. The county is home to several lakes, including Banks Lake, Grand Bay Lake, and Lake Irma.